Don’t know where to start? The following screencast video will help guide you through the navigation of this website, and will also explain the rationale behind the creation of this resource.

The 5 minute video below guides you through the process of making this website.

The Elders would like all visitors to this website to know that “none of these teachings are forced upon you.  These lessons are not meant to offend but are offered with Respect, Honour and Trust”.

This entire Website and All learning resources are the result of the courageous efforts of our Elders and Survivors. We Thank you for sharing the Truth with us!


Front left: Awehpineqw / Florence Louie, Tixen / Agnes Giesbrecht

2nd Row Left: Randy Cairns, Kolitelot Meli / Connie Moojelski, Hee ai glesh nah / Joe Ginger, Jody Shaw

3rd Row Left: Qi7men / Nicholas Louie, Bill Wells, Cyril Pierre, Marcy Buell, Joe Heslip

Below: Xaytlem / Neil Philips,Hee ai glesh nah / Joe Ginger, Tateyah / Phyllis Wright, Kookya / Priscilla Wells, Cyril Pierre, Tixten / Agnes Giesbrecht, Kolitelot Meli / Connie Moojelski

Our Elders!!!!.jpg

*A big thank you to Mem.xa / Elanor Stephenson, Philomena Fraser and Sioliya / June Quipp as well, for their contributions to this curriculum.

Thank you to Jennifer Lane, Larry Jepsen and the curriculum department for their considerable efforts in the development of this website.

Many thanks to our Aboriginal Mentor Teacher team (below) for their work on this curriculum resource.


K’was Hoy to Siyamiyateliyot and Pipte (below) for recording all Halq’emeylem translations.


Thank you Sandra Bonner, Daina Bonner and Bear Image Productions for your fantastic work with the video materials on this website.


Thank you to Gwen Point, Dave Shaepe (Sto:lo Nation), Jo Chrona (FNESC), Cheryl Gabriel (Kwantlen First Nation), Andy Phillips, Johnny Williams (Sq’ewlets First Nation), Justin Laslo, Darrel McKamey (Leq’a:mel First Nation) Naryn Searcy, Rod Peters, Clarence Pennier, Clem Seymour, Mike Morgan, Geoff Waterfall, James Hart, Angus Wilson, Colleen Hannah, Peggy Janacki and Carolynn Schmor, for your guidance, encouragement and inspiration.

Thank you to Geoff Waterfall and Aaron Boyd for all of your assistance with the Residential School / Xa:ytem tours and for allowing us access to film our documentaries on these important sites.

Screen Shot 2017-11-18 at 5.27.25 PM

Our hands are raised in thanks to Trustee Randy Cairns for presenting the idea to Siwal Si’wes to embark on this journey, and for his dedication to Indigenous Education.